Journal Entries

Abba Father

Over the years I have been growing in my relationship with God, and I have finally come to the place where I know God as a loving Father-my Papa. I used to think of God as my boss in heaven, sitting on His throne inspecting me and all my life choices. I always felt like I had to prove that I was a good kid and that God would like me more if only I behaved better.

I’ve always prayed to God as my Father, but I didn’t really believe it in my heart that God, the creator of the universe, actually loved me like His own child. I began to understand that He loves me not as a slave, but as His child and I don’t have to do anything to earn His love. I no longer feel the need to work in order to gain His acceptance or approval.  He loves me because I am His, not because of what I do.

images.jpgWhen I pray, I don’t have to come quivering, hurriedly apologizing for the bad things I did so that I can get to the part where I ask for something.  No! I can come to my wonderful Father, knowing with all my heart that He cares for me and wants to talk to me and make me smile.  Only the best dads get promoted to “Papa” and Father God is definitely my Papa.

For you did not receive a spirit of slavery that returns you to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship, by whom we cry “Abba! Father!” (Romans 8:15)

A wise friend once asked me to close my eyes and picture myself with God.  I used to see Him with a really long white beard, holding a staff, sitting on a golden throne, with a disappointed look on His face… but now I saw Him sitting on a huge comfy couch with me on His lap, and we were reading a book together.  I was looking at the pages and He was looking at me, and we were both smiling.  That image completely changed my perception of God and makes it so much easier to approach Him for anything.

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap nor store away in barns, yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable then they? (Matthew 6:26)

We are so valuable to God. We are His precious children. We can come to Him knowing He will listen to us and comfort us as a wonderful Father does his child. We can come to Him with expectation, not fear, and with certainty that He will never turn us away.

3 thoughts on “Abba Father

Leave a comment