Journal Entries

My Terebinth Tree

Today I randomly opened my Bible to the book of 2 Samuel and started reading chapter 18. It’s the story of how King David’s son Absalom was killed after rebelling against his father. The story tells us that Absalom was riding on a mule and got trapped in a terebinth tree.  He was found by David’s soldiers and was killed by Joab who lanced three spears through his heart.

I thought it was a very interesting story for many reasons but what really stood out to me was the terebinth tree. I had never learned about that tree before so I did some research and it really resonated with me. It turns out that the terebinth tree (translated from the word elah in Hebrew) is closely related to the oak tree (alon in Hebrew). They are so closely related that they basically represent the same idea in the Bible. The reason why this struck me is because almost a year ago during my Discipleship Training School my leader asked me to close my eyes during prayer and ask the Lord to show me an image of myself in the Spirit. That was weird. No one had ever asked me that before. So I did it and the image that came to my mind was a tree, large and strong tree that looked like an oak tree. At the time I understood what that meant, but not fully. When I found out what the terebinth looked like and represented, it brought me to a greater understanding of what God was trying to show me that day.

The terebinth and oak trees were very special and sacred in Palestine and are mentioned many times in the Bible. The girth of the terebinth can grow up to 30 to 40 feet and its foliage reaches a diameter of 90 feet. It is a slow-growing tree that produces a hard, tough wood that is almost indestructible. Isaiah 61:3 translates it as “trees of righteousness”. The root word for terebinth refers to strength and power. It can also mean “pillar” and refers to a strong leader. Because of its deep and extensive root system, the terebinth remains green even in drought, and it can sprout from its stump after being cut down. It was under a terebinth tree that Gideon was called by God to be a great warrior. It was in the Valley of Elah that David killed Goliath. And it was in a terebinth tree that the proud Absalom was caught and killed.

The terebinth tree obviously represents a lot in the Bible and can represent something special for all of us. For some it may represent a place of comfort or security where one can hide under the shadow of the Almighty. It is a place where you can come for restoration and healing. It is a secret place for just you and God. It is a place of encounter, worship, intercession and mind renewal. It is a place of greatness and strength, the place where you come to find peace in times of trouble. For me the terebinth represents a tabernacle, where I meet with the Lord in that special place meant just for us.  It is my table of inwardness where the Lord and I dine together.

Finding out about the terebinth tree gave me a lot of insight into the season that I am going through spiritually as well.  I’m in a season of growth, but it’s a slow and long process because my roots need to grow deep and strong.  Since it’s all inner growth, not many people can see this and might feel like I’m not going anywhere.  They may wonder what’s going on with me.

Well, the truth is, I don’t fully know what’s going on with me.  I’m a bit disappointed in myself at times because I feel like I should be doing or producing something.  I feel like I’m supposed to have something to “show” people.  But what I’m learning is that’s simply not the case.  I have to let go of the expectations of others and focus my heart and mind on the plans of God.  I simply have to trust that the Lord knows what He’s doing in my heart and in my roots.  I have to trust that after all I will be like that terebinth tree that is strong and tough, that will remain green in drought, and will sprout up again even after being cut down.  I have to trust that like Gideon the Lord will call me to be a warrior, even if no one believes that I am capable.  I have to trust that like David, I will be able to slay the giants in my life, and that like Absalom, my pride and flesh will be caught and dealt with.  Most importantly, I am being rooted and grounded in love.

Don’t despise the journey; it prepares you for the destination.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. (Jeremiah 29:11-13)

 

4 thoughts on “My Terebinth Tree

  1. God just spoke amazingly thru this article and confirmed a blessed promise I received some time back.
    Praise God!
    It’s thru verse 13 of Isaiah 6 that the Holy Spirit led me here.
    God bless u all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this 5:30 AM after doing a study on Names of people, places and yes even things.I love the Hebrew language because YHWH has created it with such depth, physical, spiritual, mental, material from eternity past thru and beyond eternity future. We all need encouraging words especially our Elohim’s Words. Wonderful study! Yah bless Judith

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment