Thoughtlife

Choosing Jesus Over Fear

I’ve realized it’s pretty easy to get discouraged.  In fact, it’s the easiest thing in the world to feel right now.  The condition of the world is bleak.  There are wars, famine, terrorism, hatred, murder… and the list goes on and on.  How am I supposed to have an optimistic outlook on life when the brutal truth is that the world sucks?

Thankfully, the Lord is faithful and He lead me to the passages of John chapters 14 to 16.  Whenever you’re discouraged, read these chapters!

In John 14 Jesus declares that He is the Way, the Truth and the Life and that we can only come to the Father through Him.  He says that if we know Him then we know the Father!  He says, “Let not your hearts be troubled.  Believe in God; believe also in me.”  In verse 18 He says, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.  Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me.  Because I live, you also will live…”  If we have Jesus we have the Way to God our Father, we have the Truth that sets us free and we have the eternal Life that He died for us to have.  We do not have to be troubled because Jesus promised to not leave us as orphans, lost or alone.

Jesus then promises to send us the Helper, the Holy Spirit, who will teach us all things.  In verse 27 He says, “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”  Jesus knows that what the world has to offer is empty and unsubstantial.  He says the peace He gives us is not as the world gives us.  He does not offer peace in money, fame, success in career or social status.  The peace He gives us is His peace.  If we have Jesus in our whole hearts, there is no room for fear or trouble.

In chapter 15 Jesus explains that he is the vine and we are the branches.  Whoever abides in Him will bear much fruit.  He encourages us by saying that we will do the works that He has done, because we abide in Him and His word abides in us.  Apart from Him we can do nothing, but with Christ all things are possible.  What comfort it brings to my heart to know that I don’t have to do this alone.  All that God requires of me is that I stay connected to the vine, and Jesus will sustain me.  I don’t have to fear famine, drought or lack of resources.  Jesus provides all that I need.

In chapter 16 Jesus tells us that when the Holy Spirit comes, He will guide us into all truth for He is the Spirit of Truth.  This is my greatest consolation.  This brings tears to my eyes when I think of how blessed I am to know the Truth deep in my heart.  The world is lost, deceived and in turmoil, but I am not because I have the Spirit of Truth guiding me, leading me into Truth, that my life will have meaning and hope. I have all assurance that I am walking in Truth, and my house is built on the rock.

In John 16:33 Jesus then says, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace.  In the world you will have tribulation.  But take heart (fear not); I have overcome the world.”  This is one of my favorite verses in the whole Bible.  This is what prevents me from falling into total despair at times.  Jesus tells us that hard times will come, that we will have trouble and tribulations.  He tells us the condition of the world will get worse, because our nature is to self-destruct.  But He tells that we ought not to fear, we are to take heart and have courage because He has already overcome the world.

On that when He was nailed to the cross and died for our sins, He overcame the world and all the forces of darkness.  Because we have been saved by His blood and sacrifice, we have the victory as well.  No work of darkness can ever overcome us, or prevail over us.  This world might crush us, beat us down, or tear us apart, but the world can never hurt us!  The world can not take away the abundant life Jesus has given us.

So if you are feeling lonely, lost, or discouraged, remember these things.  This is the truth of the Gospel, the truth of salvation and the blessed promise of our heavenly Father.  Don’t let fear reign in your heart.  Displace the fear with Jesus, the Light that forces all darkness to flee.

2 thoughts on “Choosing Jesus Over Fear

  1. John 16:33 is one of my all time favorite verses for the reasons which you mentioned. I always come to that verse when I feel discouraged. It speaks volumes to me….our only peace is in Him. Once you understand that, your life changes completely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment